The Support of Emerging Professional award is given to a person or group for outstanding achievement in service that encourages and implements sustained achievement and support for emerging professionals in Minnesota. Recipients show commitment to successful recruitment, integration, mentorship, promotion and retention of emerging professionals in the established professional community.

2014 Joan MacLeod

This award is given to an individual, group, organization, business, governmental or non-governmental agency who has been instrumental / influential in the planning, design, development, administration, maintenance or preservation of a historic site, an historic landmark or cultural landscapes in a park, park system, or wildlife preserve. The individual to be nominated may be a Landscape Architect, Park Planner, Architect, Park Historian, Engineer, Administrator, Writer, maintenance person, politician, etc. Membership in ASLA is desirable but not critical. The award will be a brass medallion, 3.5” diameter with Theodore Wirth on the front side of the medallion. The back of the medallion will be engraved with the recipient’s name, year and accomplishment. The medallion will be supplied by the Wirth estate.

2017 Peggy Lynch
2016 William Sanders
2015 Peter Olin
2014 Don Ganje
2013 Kent Worley
2012 Roger Martin
2011 Milt Krona
2004 M. Paul Friedberg
1994 MN Classic Award, Roger Martin, InterDesign, MN Zoo
1994 Special Recognition, Army Corps of Engineers, St. Paul District, Rochester Flood Control Project
1993 BRW, Northern Light Fountain
1993 Martin & Pitz, Inc., Olympic Festival
1990 David T. Mayernik and Thomas N. Rajkovich w/HGA, Inc., MN State Capitol Mall Competition
1990 BRW, Inc., Calhoun Street Mall, Ft. Wayne, IN

The Public Service Award is generally presented to a landscape architect working in the public sector. The recipients have demonstrated service to the public through projects or advocacy. This award has also been presented to landscape architects who have been voluntarily active in projects or groups which provide a service to the public.

2015 Orlyn Miller  
2012 Jody Martinez  
2011 Tim Agness  
2010 Don DeVeau  
2009 Scott Bradley  
2008 Peter Olin, Director, Minnesota Landscape Arboretum  
2007 Bob Lambert, Parks and Recreation Director for the City of Eden Prairie  
2006 Richard Murphy  
2005 Timothy Agness  
2004 Lois Eberhart  
2002 John Wirka, City of St. Paul Division of Parks and Recreation  
2001 Todd Wichman, Minnesota Board of AELSLAGID  
1998 M.C. Henry, Hennepin Parks and Al Wittman, Minneapolis Parks  
1996 Gregory Kopischke  
1992 Alan Robinette (posthumous)  
1992 Lowell Torseth  
1987 Peggy Sand  
1986 William Sanders  
1985 Roger Martin  
1982 Paul S. Fjare Life-long work with church organizations, boy and girl scouting groups, camp organizations and charity foundations.
1981 Roger Clemence Developing the urban education center at the University of Minnesota and the Community Design Center. He has also served on the Minneapolis Committee on Urban Environment and the Minnesota State Designer Selection Board.

The H.W.S. Cleveland Award is given annually to an individual trained in landscape architecture who is not yet licensed. Recipients have shown through their work and service to ASLA-MN that they have the potential to be a leader in the profession. The intent of the award is to help offset the cost of taking the licensing exam. Recipients must be a member of ASLA-MN.

2017 Elizabeth (Liz) Hixson
2016 Nicole Peterson
2015 Andrew Montgomery
2014 Ally Czechowicz
2013 Colleen O'Dell
2012 Erica Christenson
2011 Cynthia Zerger
2010 Carrie Christensen
2009 Anna Claussen
2008 Christopher Ochs
2007 Stephanie Grotta
2006 Cassie Neu
2005 David Motzenbecker
2004 Anne Okerman
2003 Ellen Stewart
2002 Regina Bonsignore